Do You Have To Call Police For a Fender Bender In Aiken SC?

100% Secure and Confidential

It goes without saying that any car accident can be a source of stress and inconvenience. Not only will you have repair costs to consider, but you must also interrupt your busy schedule to remain at the scene until the police arrive.

You may understandably wonder if you truly have to call the police for a fender bender.

At The Law Office of Taylor S. Braithwaite, we proudly represent South Carolina drivers who experience any form of motor vehicle accident. We can answer your questions regarding what to do after a fender bender and securing compensation to cover your expenses.

Do You Have To Call the Police for a Fender Bender?

First and foremost, always check yourself and other people involved in an accident for any injuries. Even a minor fender bender can result in whiplash, contusions, or even head injuries. Prioritizing your well-being comes before all else.

The next step after most car accidents is to call the police and wait at the scene. However, in South Carolina, drivers only have an obligation to report a traffic accident to the police if it results in injury, death, or damage exceeding $1,000 in value. A minor fender bender may cost $500 or more to repair but may not necessitate police involvement.

If the damage extends to other parts of the vehicle, such as the trunk or frame, then you do have to call the police for the fender bender.

How Do You Report a Minor Collision With No Police Involved?

While the damage caused by a fender bender car accident may not seem to exceed $1,000 in the moment, it may come to your attention down the line that the costs are more than you thought. Repair bills may add up quickly, or you may notice the onset of an injury or condition that you did not show any symptoms of while you were at the scene. If you find yourself in this situation, it may become necessary to involve the police after all.

The matter of reporting a minor collision to the police can be tricky if no police were called to the accident scene in the first place. The appropriate course of action is to report the accident to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV). Your attorney at TSB Injury Law can help you fill out the correct forms and submit them to the SCDMV.

Is a Fender Bender Considered an Accident?

Regardless of whether an accident warrants calling the police, you must report any and all accidents to your auto insurance provider. You may wonder, then, if the terms of your insurance policy consider a fender bender to be an accident. The answer is yes; even a minor collision or bumper tap is a collision that your insurance company needs to know about.

It is very important to report your accident to your insurance company even if you do not have to call the police for the fender bender. The reason is that even if you do not think your insurance will cover the costs or if the situation seems straightforward, complications can quickly arise. Either party may discover injuries in the following days, or the other driver may suddenly accuse you of being at fault for the collision. It can be very difficult to clear up these complications if you did not report the accident to your insurer in an appropriate timeframe.

What Information Do You Need From the Other Driver?

Exchanging information with the other party involved in your accident is important, even if it is a minor fender that does not require police involvement. Doing so enables you to make a fully detailed report to your insurance company and makes it possible to pursue compensation from the other party if you discover any injuries later.

The information you should collect from the other party includes:

  • Full names and contact info
  • Insurance company and policy number
  • Make, model, and year of the vehicle
  • License plate number
  • Driver’s license information

While you do not have to call the police for a fender bender, having this information on hand can help if you decide to pursue further legal action. Likewise, showing a willingness to share insurance information with the other party can help demonstrate good faith in the event that complications arise.

How Long Do You Have To Report an Accident in South Carolina?

If you do not call the police immediately after your fender bender car accident, you still have the option to report to the SCDMV. Doing so may become necessary if new information reveals that the damage from the accident exceeds $1,000. However, you only have 15 days following the date of the accident to report to the SCDMV in this way.

Failing to report an accident to either the police or SCDMV within the respective time limits can result in losing the opportunity to pursue compensation if your damages exceed initial projections. Your legal team at TSB Injury Law can help keep your claim on a workable timeline so you do not miss any deadlines.

How Can Your Lawyer Protect Your Right to Car Accident Compensation?

If you sustain property damage, even if it is just a minor fender bender, you have the right to claim compensation from the at-fault driver. Working closely with a car accident lawyer can ensure that your rights stay protected while you focus on returning to your everyday life.

Attorney Taylor Braithwaite can help your case by:

  • Investigating the cause of your fender bender
  • Collecting evidence to establish the other party’s fault
  • Helping you complete and submit any paperwork related to your claim
  • Negotiating with the insurance company on your behalf
  • Representing you in court if necessary

Call TSB Injury Law for Your Fender Bender Case

While you may not have to call the police for your fender bender, calling a car accident lawyer is worth your time.

Attorney Taylor Braithwaite and our team at TSB Injury Law can help you navigate the questions and complexities you may face after a fender bender car accident in Aiken, SC. Contact us today for a free consultation.


Free Consultation
Talk to us about
your case for free.

It’s free to speak with a lawyer about your injury case. Click below or call us to get in touch and learn about your legal rights after an injury.

Fair Fee GuaranteeNo Fee Unless We Win

call taylor s. braithwaite for a free consultation

Available 24/7

(803) 220-0000

100% Secure and Confidential

TSB Injury Law Logo
Available 24/7
(803) 220-0000

Request a Free Consultation

Our team is standing by right now. Tell us about your situation and begin your case today.

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

%100 Secure and Confidential